Chile vs. Mauna Kea: Thirty Meter Telescope…The Location Poll

I just noticed that a worldwide survey was conducted… unbeknown to many of us here on the islands I would assume because I never heard about the survey before today:

A worldwide survey to select the best locations for astronomy research has narrowed the number of potential sites to two: Cerro Armazones in Chile’s Atacama Desert and Mauna Kea on Hawai’i Island. Each of the candidate sites has conditions that are essential to astronomy: very clear skies, very stable atmospheric conditions above the mountaintop, and low humidity.

So I decided I would run a my own poll.  I’m curious where I could find the other poll listed above though?

Where would people like this Thirty Meter Telescope to be if there is an option?

I’m moving the Poll to the top of the Page.

Leave a comment