Moondog Outside Right Now

I just heard that there was a “Moondog” tonight.  Sure enough, I looked out and it’s the biggest one I’ve ever seen.

I can’t get my camera to work… and it’s starting to fade, but if you read my blog in the next few minutes go out and check out the moon.

Following picture by Andrew Cooper:

December 8th "Halo" - Picture by Andrew Cooper (The Darker Side)

December 8th "Halo" - Picture by Andrew Cooper (The Darker Side)

If anyone catches a picture of tonights Moondog here in Hawaii… I’d love to see it…

Can you hear me Mr. Cooper or Tom?

3 Responses

  1. And mahalo for the link Andrew, good to get the right info out there.

  2. Mahalo for the tip, I saw your post and went out and got some snaps for my website.

  3. Strictly speaking this is not a Moondog, but a 22 degree halo. Check out the great site at http://www.atoptics.co.uk/halo/common.htm for a full rundown on all of the halos and other effects that can occur around the Sun or Moon. You can see it on our side of the siland right now. Meanwhile. Tom (A Pacific View) is up top trying to observe through this mess.

    Yes, I photographed it.

    Damon – Hope to see a picture of it on your blog. Thanks for the clarification.

Leave a comment