First Print Out for the Hawaii State Primaries

The first print out for the Hawaii State Primaries can be found here:

Hawaii State Primaries

DFS Hawaii Employees Set Guinness World Record

On August 10, 2012, DFS Hawaii employees set a GUINNESS WORLD RECORDS by creating the world’s largest coffee mosaic art to celebrate the upcoming Art of Hawaiian Coffee event at DFS Galleria Waikiki.

The mosaic, from 5,642 cups of coffee with 10 different shades created a familiar and much-loved image for Hawaii — Elvis, during his ‘Blue Hawaii’ movie days.

The previous record holder in the coffee mosaic category was the Sydney Harbour Foreshore Authority for The Rocks Aroma Festival in Sydney, Australia in 2009 with 3,604 cups of depicting the Mona Lisa.

Why Are Hawaii’s Voter Ballots Not Cast Secretly?

Many people think that when you vote… the person you vote for would only be known to you.  Unfortunately Hawaii’s voting system is set-up so that someone can find out who you vote for.

I just voted at the Pahoa Community Center and when I showed them my ID and voting card… they took a numbered ballot, tore off the bottom section of it and handed me the top to vote on.  On both the bottom part of the ballot that I was sent home and the top part of the ballot that I submitted had the number printed “No. 0195128”.

When I signed my signature into the voter registry… they entered this number into the book so that if the elections folks needed to verify something… they could see who voted for whom.

Here is a picture of my stub they sent me home with and you can see clearly on the top right hand side of the stub that it’s numbered.

So my question… why aren’t Hawaii’s voter ballots cast secretly?

Oh and remember… NO VOTE… NO GRUMBLE!