Rest In Peace Guy Toyama – The “Mayor” of NELHA

I’ve just learned of the passing of a good friend and a great person, Guy Toyama.

According to Hawaii24/7:

“…Toyama, 42, finished the Kona Coffee Cultural Festival Miracle Mile fun run Saturday evening and later collapsed.

He was rushed to Kona Community Hospital and later airlifted to The Queens Medical Center on Oahu, but could not be saved…”

Here are some of the awesome things Guy has done in just the last year:

Just last month he interviewed Mayor Kenoi:

Just last month Guy Toyama interviewed Mayor Kenoi on his new talk show.

A few months before that he introduced us to the Hydrogen Powered Scooters:

Guy Toyama rides a hydrogen fuel scooter

Back in March, his Abalone Poke won the Sam Choy’s Poke Contest in Keauhou:

I’m glad I got a chance to meet him personally and I’m saddened to hear of this.

Ian Kitajima wrote the following:

…He was NELHA’s evangelist…and will forever be the Mayor of NELHA. I am grateful that I got to spend a beautiful Saturday with Guy as he gave me an amazing behind the scenes tour of NELHA. Guy and NELHA are amazing!

Leave a comment